Gutless by Matthew J Hall

I drew you a pencil picture
on the backside of a bus ticket
you were nestling into the underside of my left arm
we were old, had grown old together
the shading was shaky, but you would have seen
that we were sitting on our bench
at the foot-end of our tree
swift birds were overhead
a winding path and thick grass at our feet
my legs were crossed
I think it would have made you smile
but as I got off the bus
I tossed it in the used ticket box
because love is too dangerous
and I am a coward

Matthew J Hall
Matthew J Hall is a UK writer based in Bristol. His poetry chapbook, Pigeons and Peace Doves is available through Blood Pudding Press. He reviews small press books at http://www.screamingwithbrevity.com

 

Leave a Reply

