To, Us, Children Of Philistines, The Only Hope by Debarun Sarkar

Agha Shahid Ali is very hip nowadays.
I am told he was important back when he was alive.

I have never read him. I did not even know who he was
till Akhil Katyal couldn’t stop raving about him in an interview.
I missed out on the Amitav Ghosh piece, I was a child then.

Who is ASA?
Have you read him?
He is a (queer) Kashmiri poet who was MFA trained and lived
in the US I am told. He was born in a rich, cultured family I am told.
I can’t afford to buy his books.
I would gladly pirate them
not caring if his trust makes loses
his family dies starving,
as if my money was all
ASA ever wanted.
I wonder if he would have donated me some bitcoins
or his family would give me some fancy-ass hardcover books
for free.

When you diss all MFA trained writers about their
neat and clean verse and high minded symbolism
do you dare raise a finger on ASA? I have not seen one.

ASA was not a revolutionary, because he had his childhood
training in high culture to preserve. All the talk against Western
culture under the garb of postcolonial studies in the academia is just that,
indigenous high culture reactionary moves. Ghazal, my ass.

Its us the children of philistines, who have nothing to lose
nor much to gain, who can truly stake out new beginnings
not concerning ourselves with mundane concerns of identitarian
bullshit.

Remember, remember
its us the children of philistines who will stake out
at the gates of culture and bomb it from the underground.

Debarun Sarkar
Debarun Sarkar sleeps, eats, reads, smokes, drinks, labors and occasionally writes and submits them. Recent works have appeared or are forthcoming in Visitant, Off the Coast, The Opiate, Literary Orphans, Rat’s Ass Review, The Sunflower Collective, A Story in 100 Words, Aainanagar, among others.
One thought on “To, Us, Children Of Philistines, The Only Hope by Debarun Sarkar

Leave a Reply

