Dreamscape by JD DeHart

In my dreams last night
I had darker hair and hopped
on a plane.  I’ve only
flown a few times really.
But I found my way just fine.
I went to a magic, enchanted
and thoroughly inappropriate
land where my understandings
of ethnicity were weak
and strained.  I found myself
walking ledges, trying new
foods that tasted the same because
my dream lacked real imagination,
and when I had to leave, it was like
working my way out of a curious
wooden puzzle box, where I pushed
here and a door opened there.
jd dehart
JD DeHart is a writer and teacher. His chapbook, The Truth About Snails, is available on Red Dashboard.
Leave a Reply

