Summer Loving by Bradford Middleton

I remember with fondness one night back in the depths of time known as my adolescence when I was still virile and always on the lookout for a possible coupling
I asked my friend whose huge house-share I was planning to bunk in that night when he just gesticulated towards a room down the hall which lead me to go
And investigate, as I entered the hallway I heard him say, ‘tell her I’m sorry’ and I thought nothing of it but when I opened the door I knew exactly what he was sorry for
Before me lay a beautiful girl whose head was almost as far to the moon as mine and she just looked up, said ‘Hi Brad’ and when she patted the bed I knew I was
In for one of the best nights of my life as we made out and smoked weed until the sun rose over the suburban skyline heralding another Friday spent in blissful
Downtime state of sleeping remembering the joys of unemployment on days like these as he held her tight and within seconds she was asleep on his shoulder

The next time he saw the woman in question she greeted him like an old friend but no mention was made of it and it moves me now to think how that sort of thing
Would just never happen;   with nothing private due to the social media it would very soon have become a full-blown relationship which is what neither of us wanted as we were having another summer of freedom before
You left for university and I went back to life doing my rounds trying to land a job and on my feet, get a career but it must have been down to the summer with you, all of that LSD and all those magical nights with
A great out of control crowd that first lead me to realise that a life with little money and no responsibility is always a hell of a lot more fun than one with abundant wealth or at least until you want to be an adult as
Times like those, those memories of past times, I can only dream of now.

Bradford Middleton was born in London in the summer of 1971 but didn’t begin writing poetry until he was 36 when he landed in Brighton.  He has a couple of chapbooks available, Drink Drank Drunk from Crisis Chronicles Press (Ohio, USA) and A Life Like This Ain’t For the Faint-Hearted from Holy & Intoxicated Press (Hastings, UK) as well as lots of material available online and in print.  Some of the places that have published his work include Zygote in my Coffee, Five Poetry, Ppigpenn, Rapoetics, Chicago Record, Rolling Thunder Quarterly, Section 8 Magazine, Mad Swirl, Your One Phone Call, Dead Snakes and Empty Mirror.  He tweets occasionally @beatnikbraduk. 

Leave a Reply

