Mad One Eye And His Bird Brains by Paul Brookes

Every dawn I send out
black feathered bird brains
my memory and thought
to fetch news. I’ve gid
them power of speech,
and fret they’ll not come
back one on these days,
so I’ll sit here thoughtless
and without memory.

Our lass says, “Thas allus
same once thas let thee birds go.
Tha sits around gormless,
and thoughtless. Gerron
wi summat you idle twat.
Tha’d think tha had Alzheimer’s
or summat. Frame thee sen!”

“Aye, whatever tha says”
I reply and stroke my two
wolves, Clemmed, and Guzzle.
Give them snap from
our table, as wine’s
food and drink to me,
while our lass, The Beloved,
weaves clouds in folks lives.

Till come afternoon I smile
as they fly back and whisper
in my lughole what’s going on
with folk on outside.

They tell me they had
white feathers once
when work for a boss called Blaze
who sends them out
on a snooping mission
to find out whether his lass
who is called Crow,
is playing away. On return
they say as she is and Blaze
is so put out he scorches
them both black.

paul-brookes
Paul Brookes was poetry performer with “Rats for Love” and his work included in “Rats for Love: The Book”, Bristol Broadsides, 1990. His first chapbook was “The Fabulous Invention Of Barnsley”, Dearne Community Arts, 1993. He has read his work on BBC Radio Bristol and had a creative writing workshop for sixth formers broadcast on BBC Radio Five Live.

 

One thought on “Mad One Eye And His Bird Brains by Paul Brookes

Leave a Reply

