Trailways by Wayne F. Burke

I stood outside the bus station
one night
after hitting the bars
which I had been thrown out of
one after the other
and I puked a geyser
of mustard-colored whatever
that splattered the sidewalk
and my shoe tops
and a bus driver
with a stricken look
asked me “you do that?”
and I said “no”
and at the door of the bus
he gave me some shit
about getting on
but I plowed up the steps
and went to the back
and sat
and added to the general stench
until I got off
an hour later.

Wayne F. Burke’s poetry has appeared in a variety of publications. His three published poetry collections, all from Bareback press, are WORDS THAT BURN, DICKHEAD, and KNUCKLE SANDWICHES. His chapbook PADDY WAGON is published by Epic Rites Press. He lives in the central Vermont area, USA.

Leave a Reply

