Low-Flying Planes by James Babbs

so
there I was again
standing on the precipice
wondering
if love really exists
or if it was just another lie
we used to comfort ourselves
at an early age
we learn how to pretend
but what happens to us
when we get older
love
or what I thought was love
lifted me up for a little while
and carried me across the darkness
before it brought me crashing down
love
or what I thought was love
left me broken
like a ship wrecked on
the dark waves of the ocean
I was scattered and my thoughts
kept drifting back to her
while I held on to the pieces
of floating debris
now here I am
sitting in the car
watching the low-flying planes
moving slowly toward the east
I don’t know where they’re going
but I keep watching them
until they disappear
and at night when I can’t sleep
I slip outside and
walk around the yard
I look up at the stars
and some of them are blinking
I don’t know why
but they remind me
of far away eyes

James Babbs Photo 3
James Babbs is a writer, a dreamer, a three-time loser and an all-around nice guy who just wants to be left alone. James is the author of Disturbing The Light(2013) & The Weight of Invisible Things(2013) and has hundreds of poems and a few short stories scattered all over the internet.
Leave a Reply

