Gracias Danke Merci by Misti Rainwater-Lites

In any language I am the bitch
returning to your trailer
to lap up puddles of vomit.
Gringa grovel.
You feel exploited in that novel I wrote
starring you
barring me from Barrio Heaven.
I feel exploited in your arms
when you’re fucking me
with your eyes closed
imagining me thirty pounds skinnier
and a couple of shades darker.
The cracker in me puts on red lipstick
and George Jones and fries you
up some chicken.
The Mexican in you
puts up with my bullshit
puts me on a pedestal
then knocks me down into the mud
because who in the fuck
do I think I am?
You alpha god.
You gorgeous fraud.
In any language I’m the clod of dirt
blinding your dead eye
to any conceivable redemption.

misti-rainwater-lites
Misti Rainwater-Lites is the author of Bullshit Rodeo. Her latest chapbook, No Guns No Knives No Disco Biscuits, is available from DevilHouse Press.
Leave a Reply

