I Was by Matthew Borczon

home for
9 days
before I
left for
Afghanistan
I made
our anniversary
but missed
your birthday

on the
morning I
flew out
I woke
with you
wrapped around
me like
when we
were dating
you cried
and said
I feel
like I’m
losing you
forever

6 years
later and
you now
sleep
on the
far side
of our
bed but
no one
blames you
for that

certainly not
the stranger
I’ve become
since the
war.

Matthew Borczon
Matthew Borczon is a nurse and Navy sailor from Erie Pa. He has 4 kids and 3 jobs and dreams a lot about Afghanistan still. His book A clock of human bones won the yellow chair reviews chap book contest in 2015. He has been published widely in the small press.
One thought on “I Was by Matthew Borczon

Leave a Reply

