Emptiness Comes in Many Shapes & Sizes by James Babbs

so I went to work today
and delivered the goddamn mail again
for what seemed like the millionth time
of course
I know that’s an exaggeration
because
I haven’t even lived for that many days
I guess I’ve only been around
about 18 or 19 thousand days
something like that
I don’t know the exact number
and I sure as hell am not going to
sit down and figure it out
let’s just say
it’s less than 20 thousand
and leave it at that
okay?
because
the point I’m trying to make
is that it feels like I’ve been doing
the same fucking thing
for a really long time
but I’m not getting any fulfillment
from any of it
I don’t know
maybe I thought
by this point in my life
there would be more than this
that I would have found
some kind of satisfaction
but obviously I was wrong

James Babbs Photo 3
James Babbs is a writer, a dreamer, a three-time loser and an all-around nice guy who just wants to be left alone. James is the author of Disturbing The Light(2013) & The Weight of Invisible Things(2013) and has hundreds of poems and a few short stories scattered all over the internet.
Leave a Reply

