Confession by J. K. Durick

When I was young
And poor and proper

I was always ready
To please the powers

That were real or
Even just imagined

Powers that moved
Parts of the world

The world I wanted
To be a part of, please.

I would play and pretend –
Play the part they wanted

And pretend to be happy
With things as they were

At least for the moment
They were watching me.

I could flatter – say what
I knew they wanted to hear

I could hold doors, step aside
– Literally and figuratively

I could hold my tongue and
Time my entrances just right

I mastered reading faces and
Between the lines with ease

I mastered pretend praise
Delivered with a straight face

I mastered what I needed to
Because I was young and poor
And, of course, proper.

j-k-durick
J. K. Durick is a writing teacher at the Community College of Vermont and an online writing tutor. His recent poems have appeared in Social Justice Poetry, Tuck Magazine, Stanzaic Stylings, Synchronized Chaos, and Haikuniverse.
Leave a Reply

