Competition by JD DeHart

Competition’s getting fiercer,
we all wear masks when we go
to market.
I don’t know an outright insult
from a veiled one, but I know
the feeling of being pulled down
by words and glances.
I’m training myself not to pay
attention, to be in my own game
where only I make the rules.
I’m trying and trying to train myself
to sit this one out, or bring a new
edge to the game.  A new piece
on the board.  Whatever metaphor
you like.  I’m the guy in the corner
who’s not reffing, maybe doesn’t
even know how to play.  But insists
just the same.

jd dehart
JD DeHart is a writer and teacher. His chapbook, The Truth About Snails, is available on Red Dashboard.
Leave a Reply

