Common by Paul Tanner

Five to eight and I sit down in the canteen
their eyes crawling all over me

there’s the snotty hissing
coming from the big table

a chair scrapes the tiles
and sure as the shit it smells like
one of them stomps over:

YOU A SUPERVISOR DEN?

he obviously wasn’t management,
in his crappy shelf-stacker polo
like the rest of us

NOT GOIN UNI OR KNOTTUN?

he didn’t strike me as being especially educated,
being here
now
with the rest of us

SO WHA, YER JUST GONNA WERK ERE DEN?
KNOTTUN ELSE GOIN FOR YER, AVE YER?

I could have told him
he was going the right way about
ending up in a poem
but before I could

KIN LOSER! he spits
and he goes back over to the others
for back pats
and that bad sound that’s the sound of
male adult giggles

they’d sent the work psycho over
to test me?
make me feel even less welcome
than the interview
the pay
the job itself?

fine
he wins
I’m a loser

but so’s he
trust me
I know what he’s paid
I saw his face
I smelt his smell
trust me
he has nothing going for him
besides this poem:

I guess we have that much in common.

Paul Tanner photo
Paul Tanner’s new book ‘Notes of A Pleb Vol. 4’ will be available soon and this poem’s from it.
Leave a Reply

