My Fucking Sun by Katharine Battistoni

I got totally drunk on Saturn
that night, and Jupiter didn’t help
either. They kept winking ‘til I was
drinking ‘em like moonshine,
Mars and Arcturus battlin’ a red battle,
Sirius sighin’ bluely, Polaris lurkin’
from parts North. Only at the rise
of the half-moon (when I decided
to use the sidewalk as a bathroom)
did I break down on the curb
like your friendly neighborhood bum
and call for you, my fucking sun.

katharine-battistoni
Katharine Battistoni lives in Austin, TX, with a typewriter, three guitars, and the complete works of e e cummings, if possessions designate character. She can be found here: crunchyfatt.tumblr.com and here: katiesolo.bandcamp.com.
Leave a Reply

