Ride on Rooster by James D. Casey IV

He woke up outside
Sleeping among the alley cats
Early in the mornings
Hopped on his rusty old
Acoustic motorcycle
And did the Hadacol boogie
Dodging pink elephants
On the way to his spot

I saw him there every day
Tired and dirty
Gnarly beard
But he seemed happy
As a pig in shit
Smiling behind ice blue eyes
With a better disposition
Than most of the people
I knew that actually owned
Anything

I remember him
From my childhood
Friends with my Pop
Called him Rooster
Nice house
Wife
I even had a crush
On his daughter
Long dark brown hair
Same ice blue eyes
Actually stole
My first kiss from her

Never asked why
Or how he got were he was
Just gave him my change
When I had it
Or bought him a beer
Exchanged pleasantries
And went our separate ways

I’m sure he had
A story to tell
But that’s why I don’t
Judge a book by it’s cover
Besides
Happiness is a state of mind
Ride on Rooster
Ride on

james-d-casey-iv
James D. Casey IV is a published author of two poetry books: ‘Metaphorically Esoteric’ & ‘Dark Days Inside the Light While Drunk on Wine.’ He is also working on his third under the title “Tin Foil Hats & Hadacol Coins” that is expected to be published in the next few months. Mr. Casey’s writings have been published in international ezines and on several websites. Poetry Life & Times, Artvilla, Realistic Poetry International, and Poetry Super Highway have him listed in their poet archives as well. You can find links to his books, social network profiles, and other projects on his website at http://louisianakingcasey.w ixsite.com/big-skull-poetry.
Leave a Reply

