Just For Today by Dan O’Connell

The day arrives like an invoice
I have no intention of paying.

I fight with the morning like a map in the wind.

My heart’s a Rubik’s cube with no solution.

My penis, serviceable as a shovel.

My spirit animal is the ostrich.

I’m sick and tired of the earth’s rotation.

I can’t stand the smell
Of my own nostrils.

There is no rhyme or reason
To my circulatory system.

Eyes are windows
Into the sinuses.

I’m sick and tired of the earth’s rotation.

I resent the way my sponsor laughs
Through his tracheotomy.

I twist wisdom out of my inner convict
Like beer sop squeezed from a bar rag:

Just for today I will assume
My skeleton will support
All my efforts to transform
Into a being of light and joy.

dan-oconnell
Dan O’Connell is a four-time award winning poet whose work has appeared regularly in small and large publications since 1986, most recently Big Bell Magazine (2016) and America Magazine (Foley Poetry Prize, 2015). Dan O. is a former Philosophy and Rhetoric professor. He currently lives in San Francisco, where he has his own law practice and occasionally teaches law.
Leave a Reply

