etude 1/2/17 by Troy Kody Cunio

My body is getting too big for my clothes
My heart is getting too small for my body
My metaphors are getting too easy for my poems
My problem is getting too body for my mind
My mind is getting too closed, like my heart
My metaphors are getting too close to similes
I am becoming like a simile
Like a simile, I am becoming
My poems are getting too meta for me
My hands salted to crack across my swollen belly
My problem is getting too big for its poem
My body is getting too metaphor for my body
My problem is getting to my heart

troy-kody-cunio
Troy Kody Cunio lives in Orlando. His work has appeared in NYSAI, Beech Street Review, The Literary Bohemian, Sweet Wolverine, The Kitchen Poet, and others. He is the uneditor of Rejected Poetry Journal (rejectedlit.tumblr.com). You can find his books at payhip.com/tkcpoetry.

 

 

Leave a Reply

