Goblin Chef by James D. Casey IV

Another sleepless night alone
My eyes burning with hallucinations
Dancing shadows and little goblins
Traipsing across my bed sheets

One even tried to serve me lobster claw

Don’t ask me why

I stare at the ceiling tiles
Watching as miscellaneous shapes form
Like some creepy cloud animals in the sky

My mind is weary
Unpredictable
After no solid sleep
For three long nights
I can’t take much more of this

As these enigmatic visions taunt me
They sing dark lullabies
No one can fall asleep to
Eerie songs of bumps in the night
That serenade me into madness

Maybe I could sleep
In a padded room

When I close my eyes
Trying to drift into dreams
I’m walking off the pier to nowhere
Falling into a bottomless pit
I get scared and they pop open

Sure enough
there he is again
Still trying to feed me lobster

I didn’t even know goblins could be chefs

james-d-casey-iv
James D. Casey IV is a published author of two poetry books: ‘Metaphorically Esoteric’ & ‘Dark Days Inside the Light While Drunk on Wine.’ He is also working on his third under the title “Tin Foil Hats & Hadacol Coins” that is expected to be published in the next few months. Mr. Casey’s writings have been published in international ezines and on several websites. Poetry Life & Times, Artvilla, Realistic Poetry International, and Poetry Super Highway have him listed in their poet archives as well. You can find links to his books, social network profiles, and other projects on his website at http://louisianakingcasey.w ixsite.com/big-skull-poetry.
Leave a Reply

