Clenched Fists # 161 by THE PRETZELED POET Michael Joseph Patton

Love started with you as love often does.
Showing your good face and holding your tongue.
You treat me like a queen behind closed doors.
But out in public your busy keeping score.
She thought just one drink to loosen up.
She thought that one drink was all it was.
But that one drink turned to way too many.
And that’s when his hands got way too friendly.
Somehow or another she ended up in his bed.
He held her spellbound by the words he said.
She fell for this man hook, line, and sinker.
But all of that changed when he started to beat her.
Now not a day goes by where I don’t try to hide.
As you stare at my essence with terrifying eyes.
I crawl back in my hole like a scared little child.
Wondering how another human can be so defiled.
He raised his fists and punched me in the lips.
Saying shut your mouth you stupid bitch.
He threw me around like I was a rag doll.
Leaving blood and bruises on all four walls.
None of her friends could ever see all of her pain.
Even if they did, they just looked the other way.
They left her alone with all her broken bones.
Too afraid to speak up and save one of their own.
His loving speech turned to screaming at me.
As my eyes cried quietly and my knees got weak.
I was afraid of this evil man to my very core.
I wanted to leave him but was afraid even more.
I slowly learned just how to please him.
Knew what I could and couldn’t say.
I knew how to hide my feelings from him.
To make sure that he had a good day.
The first time he hit me he scrambled my brain.
But he had me convinced that I was to blame.
He turned everything around to make it my fault.
Making me believe that I deserved this assault.
This kind of beating went on for far too damn long.
Until the day he almost beat me to death.
Today I am free except for the memories.
But I’m still too scared to let out my breath.

My name is Michael Joseph Patton. I am a 55-year-old divorced father of three lovely daughters.I work as a cook and like to spend my free time writing poetry, spending time with family and friends, walking in the woods or the beach and reading other poets.I am very new to the poetry world, having only written for less than 2 years, but look forward to many years of writing left in me. 

Leave a Reply

