The Promised Land by Anoucheka Gangabissoon

The lover or rather, the one who claimed to be a lover
Came over to me
And thrust a rose in my hands
Then, he left me without a single word
I was perplexed
For his love I did hunger
For his presence I did crave
But then
Why did he have to leave?
What have I done wrong?

Blaming myself for every burden that Earth shoulders
I chose to take care of the rose
I potted it
And watered it
Loved it so much
Till, even if was a mere branch
It grew and grew
And went up the skies
High up above the clouds
Higher up than the human eye can discern!

Then, one day, I came across the lover again
We came face to face with each other
‘Twas on a fair day
He carried a wife on one hand
And a child on the other
And he looked at me
As if I were a mere stranger!

Heart torn, I ran back home
Was about to kill the giant rose branch
When a butterfly, hovering on one of the flowers, whispered to me
Climb it
Climb it and see where it leads!

Why, I did so and lo!
I begot a glimpse of the world known as the blissful one
A world where beings, carefree and perfect
Rejoiced of being!
I was told I would be there too
But first, I needed to complete my tasks on Earth

So, I climbed back down
And followed the way the winds blew my intuitions
As for the lover
I kept him not in my heart
Nor in my mind
I lived and kept my gaze
Focused on my rose branch
Someday,
The promised land shall be mine!

SONY DSC
Anoucheka Gangabissoon is a Primary School Educator in Mauritius. She writes poetry and short stories as hobby. She considers writing to be the meaning of her life as she has always been influenced by all the great writers and wishes to be, like them, immortalized in her words. Her works can be read on poetrysoup.com and she had also appeared in various literary magazines like SETU, Different Truths, Dissident Voice. She has also been published in Duane’s Poetree and also in an anthology for the Immagine and Poesia group. Her poems are often placed in free online contests.

 

Leave a Reply

