Snob by Paul Tanner

Was just having a fag around the back of the shop.
I mean, what could go wrong?

GO ED JUSTIN, a fat bitch drags her kid over
JUST GO ERE she yanks his toddler trackies down
NO ONE’S ABOUT

and he starts pissing up the wall next to me.

Fucksake! I stumble aside.

AY! she says. YOU LOOKIN AT MY BOY’S BITS?

Who yer talkin to? I ask her, looking around. Am not ere, AM I?

I flick the fag end into the swelling yellow puddle
and walk away from the hissssss . . .

AY, she yells after me SOME OF US DOE NAV FIRTY PEE
FER THE POSH TOILETS YER KNOW!

Evidently this is a class issue.

I don’t have thirty pee either,
but I work
and I have her kid’s piss on my shoes
and for that, believe you me
I am truly sorry.

Paul Tanner photo
Paul Tanner’s new book ‘Notes of A Pleb Vol. 4’ will be available soon and this poem’s from it.
Leave a Reply

