Someone Stole My Life by Kyle Hemmings

Someone stole my life
& dragged it across town.
So now I’m not sure
which basement I’m suffocating in
or who owns the stagnant air.

Someone stole my life
& gave it to a fake beggar.
He used my bloated belly
as a cushion
my voice to sing Adele’s “Hello,”
as he asked for change.
I went hungry while he passed gas.

Somebody stole my life
and gave it to somebody else.
So now my name is not my own
and the words I speak are rehearsed
under strict tutelage, forced repetition.

Someone stole my life
and gave it
to the stray dogs on the edge of town.
Sensing there was little meat
& little soul
they buried my bones,
and made a wish
then closed their eyes
in their little doggy dreams.

Kyle Hemmings lives and works in New Jersey.  His latest collections of poetry/prose are Future Wars and Split Brain, both on Amazon Kindle. He loves 50s Sci-Fi movies,  manga comics, and pre-punk garage bands of the 60s.

Leave a Reply

