A West Side Story in East Utica by Alan Catlin

The blonde at the bar eyed
new arrivals, sized them up,
chose one and sidled up close,
whispered like something out
a 60’s pop hit, “You look like
my kind of man.” Leaned forward
and gave him a kiss with a tongue
in it, ”Buy me a beer and we’ll talk.
Who knows, we might have a lot
in common. Don’t go anywhere,
I’ll be back.”

“Sure. Why not?” he thought,
“Dos cervezas, por favor.”
He said to the nearest barman,
watching her as she walked away.
“You sure that’s what you want to do?
No skin off my ass if you do but
you might want to think about it.”
“Sure, why not?”
“Maybe you were born irresistible,
I don’t know. You look kind of average
to me but I could be wrong. You might
have a hidden weapon only the ladies
know about which is neither here nor
there to me. Just wondering if you’re
used to women falling all over you like that.”
“It happens.”
“Sure it does.  Look, you notice two
guys in the parking lot going at it in
the parking lot outside?”
“I saw some kind of beef. Wasn’t none
of my business so I just moved on.”
“Well, it was your business, in a way.”
“How’s that? I don’t know those guys.”
“Hell, I doubt they know each other.
See they were having an argument over
a woman. A blonde woman. A very forward
blonde woman. A teasing bitch of a blonde.
You figure one of them is bound to turn up
in here eventually, when they’re done
making pin cushions out of each other.”
“I see. Maybe you’re right. One beer
is good. She’s not that hot anyway.

Alan Catlin
Alan Catlin is the poetry editor of misfitmagazine.net. His latest books of poetry are American Odyssey from Future Cycle and Last Man Standing from Lummox Press
Leave a Reply

