It’s A Long Way Down To The Bottom # 160 by THE PRETZELED POET Michael Joseph Patton

I’m lost in my life, can somebody help me?
My brain’s gone missing and my heart is on empty.
It’s been far too long without love in my life.
Every day another little piece of me dies.
I’ve climbed every mountain and swam all the seas.
But my ears must be deaf to love’s melodies.
The search is getting harder the older I get.
They make it look so easy on my television set.
I’ll go straight down to Hell and kiss Satan’s ass.
I’ll drink 100 shots of whiskey from an aids tainted glass.
I’ll search the whole wide world from below and above.
I’ll do anything and everything to find my true love.
I’ve talked to the wise man on top of the mountain.
It took me forever but I finally found him.
Seeking his knowledge I begged for his counsel.
I asked my question and waited for his announcement.
But all I left him was perplexed and totally confounded.
No other seekers question had ever confused him.
So I jumped off the mountain to complete the illusion.
So now I’m left with my original thought.
Who is love and who is not?
That’s a question that is impossible to answer.
You can’t water a flower that’s not in a planter.

My name is Michael Joseph Patton. I am a 55-year-old divorced father of three lovely daughters.I work as a cook and like to spend my free time writing poetry, spending time with family and friends, walking in the woods or the beach and reading other poets.I am very new to the poetry world, having only written for less than 2 years, but look forward to many years of writing left in me.

One thought on “It’s A Long Way Down To The Bottom # 160 by THE PRETZELED POET Michael Joseph Patton

Leave a Reply

