She’s like Cerberus by John Tustin

She must have found some coins in the cushion of the couch or something
because she decided to go shopping
but she kept wandering around the room
and she must have told the kids she was leaving a hundred times
but then she was finally out the door

and you could feel palpable excitement in the air
all around us

and I kept checking the window
and checking the window
and that brown monstrosity she drives
was still in the driveway but then
finally it wasn’t.

My son knew then that
he could have soda.

My daughter knew then that her tea party
could go on undisturbed.

And I knew I could write a poem
about you.

john-tustin
John Tustin is currently suffering in exile on Elba. His published poetry is available at http://fritzware.com/johntustinpoetry/

Leave a comment