It was Almost Impossible by Jon Bennett

She was a lit major
that wasn’t the problem
the problem was her breasts
they were like stalactites
except horizontal
I tried to remain objective
“This poem of yours,” I said,
“simply has
too many words.”
She made
very good eye contact
which I couldn’t manage
so I took out
my big, black
binder
and propped it up
to block the view
A year later
she gave up on poetry
to work in fiduciary services
I like to think
I helped.

Jon Benett Painting
Jon Bennett hopes you’ll forgive his trespasses. — Painting by Andrea Hasko-Marx, c. 2017

 

Leave a Reply

