Singing the Longshoreman Gospel by Cole Bauer

I pour a drink
Vodka in a foam cup
For our temporary neighbor
The longshoreman

He has complained on us
He has complained to us
When we’re silent partiers
But these walls are thin
Late night wasted sessions interrupted!

I pour a drink
Vodka in a foam cup
For our temporary neighbor
The longshoreman

He was angry towards the staff
And the guests and the neighbors really
Having a melt down about anything
Leaving a shit in the toilet
And checking out

I pour a drink
Vodka in a foam cup
For someone I wished I would have poured a drink on
Or given one too
Because nothing shines in his darkness
The longshoreman
Goodbye

Cole Bauer
My name is Cole Bauer. I’m an American screenwriter, author, and poet currently in the dirty south of the U.S.A.. I was born and partially raised in the Twin Cities of Minnesota. I was raised and lived for most of my life in San Diego, California. I’ve lived, off and on, in Texas for six years. Traveled around America as well. I am inspired and motivated by street-writers like Charles Bukowski, John Fante, and Dan Fante. I enjoy clearing out my brain on to blank sheets of paper and empty screens. I love writing random short stories, pilot scripts, and film screenplays also.

 

Leave a Reply

