Oh Yeah by James Babbs

didn’t I tell you this before
because
I’m pretty sure I did
about the guy with the gun
who got t-boned by a drunk driver
while he was getting chased by the cops
it seems like we were right here
sitting in this same room
drinking this cheap red wine
just like we’re doing now
remember
it was when you got that call
from your younger brother
the brother who’s always getting into trouble
the one you said
you hadn’t seen in more than a year
it seems so clear to me
oh yeah
it was when I tried to kiss you
remember
and you suddenly stood up
and told me you had to go
well
I guess
I should’ve left that part out
come on
let’s have some more wine
and just relax
I’ll try not to be an asshole
okay
you can tell me about your brother
and what he’s been up to lately

James Babbs Photo
James Babbs is a writer, a dreamer, a three-time loser and an all-around nice guy who just wants to be left alone. James is the author of Disturbing The Light(2013) & The Weight of Invisible Things(2013) and has hundreds of poems and a few short stories scattered all over the internet.
Leave a Reply

