Parties Two Weeks From Christmas by Kristine Brown

I am walking home again
headphones lodged in oozing ears
the office ten feet away from me
screams with filial dysfunction
and I ask myself,
“Can’t she just take a day off?”
I am walking from home tomorrow
cardigan old, a hole expands
the bus stop twenty feet away from sleep
sneers with destitute lechery
and I tell myself,
“Buy a damn car.”
I am walking in circles tonight
a party clatters on the floor below
the girls five minutes away from dreams
laugh in their crystalized play
and I sing to myself,
“Summertime Sadness.”
And as always,
winter is here.
I’m waiting in earnest for another.

kristine-brown
Kristine Brown is a freelance writer and editor who resides in Southwest Texas. She is a cat fanatic, and recently had her first collection of poems, Scraped Knees, published by Ugly Sapling (link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/0998496901/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_x_101IybN9ACW0D).
One thought on “Parties Two Weeks From Christmas by Kristine Brown

Leave a Reply

