Blinding Light by Linda M. Crate

just another pretty face
to you
that’s all you would let me be
wouldn’t see me for the
depths or ocean that i was and am and continue
to be,
and you only took my naked body
when i gave you also my heart and soul;
you must have been the apple
and i was eve
making the same mistake that got me evicted
from the most perfect garden
to begin with
i guess some people never learn—
compromised myself and my values simply to appease you,
but you cannot crucify yourself for the sake of
someone else;
you end up losing yourself in their waves
and your waters were never anything
to write home about—
disloyal, untrue, insincere, and false
you knew naught of love
though you insisted you had it for me
your appreciation was hollow and it shattered like glass
and you choked and gagged me on those pieces
before throwing me into a sea of isolation to kill me;
yet the mermaids in my soul rescued me
and my moon mother sewed me back together with the aid
of my sun father and now i shine brighter than before to blind
the eyes of men, like you, without pity and remorse
for all the hurt they bring into the
world.

Linda M. Crate
Linda M. Crate is a Pennsylvanian native born in Pittsburgh yet raised in the rural town of Conneautville. Her poetry, short stories, articles, and reviews have been published in a myriad of magazines both online and in print. She has three published chapbooks A Mermaid Crashing Into Dawn (Fowlpox Press – June 2013), Less Than A Man (The Camel Saloon – January 2014), and If Tomorrow Never Comes (Scars Publications, August 2016). Her fantasy novel Blood & Magic was published in March 2015. The second novel of this series Dragons & Magic was published in October 2015. The third of the seven book series Centaurs & Magic was published November 2016. Her novel Corvids & Magic was published March 2017. Her novel Phoenix Tears is forthcoming.
Leave a Reply

