Living Solo by Anoucheka Gangabissoon

I wish to walk on the beach
Hand in hand with my lover
As the sun sets
Swarmed by desire
He would pull me close
And engulf me in a feverish embrace!

Why, what a beautiful scene plays on in my mind
Wishes have been there for as long as I can remember
Wishes shall be there for eons as well
But wishes shall remain wishes

Romance and true love have lost their integrity
Romance is tinged with selfishness
Romance is no more warm and comforting
Romance brings in doubts, trust issues and abuses

The lovers are no more prince-like
Why, the lovers have turned ogrish
Pray, I do wonder if they are not diseased
Infected with the seeds of wrong doings
I do wonder if in their blood
Runs not the parasitic residue of evil
Why,
None can be trusted
Not even lovers
Pray, if such was not true
Then, why are there so many victims of domestic abuse
Why are there so many suicides all in the name of love
Why are there so many mental issues all related to same

Yes, let me play the wish in my head
As long I shall deem it right to
Meanwhile, I shall build my castle
And secure it with a fortress
Someday,
I shall walk alone on a beach
And admire the sunset
And feel not on me, judgmental eyes!

SONY DSC
Anoucheka Gangabissoon is a Primary School Educator in Mauritius. She writes poetry and short stories as hobby. She considers writing to be the meaning of her life as she has always been influenced by all the great writers and wishes to be, like them, immortalized in her words. Her works can be read on poetrysoup.com and she had also appeared in various literary magazines like SETU, Different Truths, Dissident Voice. She has also been published in Duane’s Poetree and also in an anthology for the Immagine and Poesia group. Her poems are often placed in free online contests.
Leave a Reply

