An Answer To A Publisher by Cole Bauer

People say his work is tired
People say his work is overrated and copied
People say his work has outgrown them

People ask why write like him?
People ask why read him so many times?
People ask why visit his old stomping grounds?

Those people who say and ask
So much about my hero and savior
Don’t need the help anymore
They’ve made it

Those people who say and ask
So much about my hero and savior
It was a novelty during their weak moment
Which means they never truly understood it

I read it and write it because I live it
Poverty only has one kind of medicine
And you ask why I need it
When you don’t know what it is
Even though you claim to have had the same prescription

Cole Bauer
My name is Cole Bauer. I’m an American screenwriter, author, and poet currently in the dirty south of the U.S.A.. I was born and partially raised in the Twin Cities of Minnesota. I was raised and lived for most of my life in San Diego, California. I’ve lived, off and on, in Texas for six years. Traveled around America as well. I am inspired and motivated by street-writers like Charles Bukowski, John Fante, and Dan Fante. I enjoy clearing out my brain on to blank sheets of paper and empty screens. I love writing random short stories, pilot scripts, and film screenplays also.
Leave a Reply

