Success by Blaine Kaltman

So this is success, here I am at the part, where one chapter closes and another one starts.
And as I march forth although sometimes I fear I remind myself courage holds to persevere.

So this is success, I’ve done things wrong. I’m far from perfect, but I try to be strong.
And I’ve never forgotten what’s wrong and what’s right, and try every day not to lose that from sight.

So this is success, I’ve followed dreams. And as they mature more come true it seems.
And I never look back on the ones lost before, because I’m too busy looking for what’s next in store.
And too busy working to be all I can, for hard work and morals are what make a man.

So this is success, I know how to write. I can laugh at myself. I won’t shy from a fight.
I’ve researched things most men don’t know, and traveled further than most men go.
Yet through all this what I’ve discerned is there’s so much more out there to be learned.

So here’s to success, to the leaps and the falls, to the quest for self betterment, to heeding the call.
To adventure and learning, to wonder and strife, to becoming a man, to loving, to life.

And whatever I find in the journey ahead, I just hope that they say of me after I’m dead
That he was honest and upright and did his best.
And learned, and loved…and was a success.

blaine-kaltman
Blaine Kaltman has a PhD in philosophy from the University of Queensland. He is the author of “Under the Heel of the Dragon” http://www.ohioswallow.com/author/Blaine+Kaltman and the producer, lead actor, and screenplay writer of the award winning film “Back Alley Bulls” http://influxmagazine.com/back-alley-bulls-review/. He is a Foreign Service officer with the US State Department and fluent in Mandarin Chinese. His latest artistic venture is a hard rock band named Stone Mob and a cowboy themed video to support their first single “Murder Town” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XK-S9vPdpNs . But none of this has stopped Blaine from writing poems almost everyday for the past twenty years.
Leave a Reply

