I Fear Not Loneliness by Anoucheka Gangabissoon

I fear not loneliness
I find my peace, rather, in it
I fear not having no one to talk to
I fear not having no one to confide in
Pray
I can talk to myself
Yes,
And I can pour out my conversations on paper
I can even share them with the rest of the world
To rejoice of their essence
To exalt at their glory!

Pray, having opened my heart too much once
I have learnt that peers can break it
Yet, I have been strong enough to reassemble myself
Now, I can be on my own
Enjoying my own company
And fearing not the idea of gazing at my shadow
While creating my lines and verses all the time!

I fear not loneliness
I am not lonely
Like me, millions do tread along
Pretending to be in love with their fates
Pretending that life is awesome
Pretending that they are not alone

I fear not loneliness
Give me more of it
I shall breathe it
And merge with it!

SONY DSC
Anoucheka Gangabissoon is a Primary School Educator in Mauritius. She writes poetry and short stories as hobby. She considers writing to be the meaning of her life as she has always been influenced by all the great writers and wishes to be, like them, immortalized in her words. Her works can be read on poetrysoup.com and she had also appeared in various literary magazines like SETU, Different Truths, Dissident Voice. She has also been published in Duane’s Poetree and also in an anthology for the Immagine and Poesia group. Her poems are often placed in free online contests.
Leave a Reply

