Help by Rob Dyer

the waitress offered,
“may I help you?”

I sat speechless, fearful
wondering if she was capable
or even truly willing
to assume such responsibilities

there was no way I could respond
honestly
and divulge the sadness consuming my soul

my last smile replied,
“coffee, please”

Rob Dyer
An author and friend told me I was good at telling stories and should write some of them. That was sixteen years ago and I have never finished a single story. Instead, my voice came forward in pieces…pieces of life…mine, yours, his, hers and the unimaginable that happens every day. All I ask of the words, is movement. I have found acceptance in several generous spaces like Mad Swirl, Deuce Coupe, Epic Rites Press, Guerilla Pamphlet and others. ~ I’m so wrong, I write Rob Dyer
Leave a Reply

