Something Completely Different by James Babbs

just me here among all these rooms
just me
alone and drifting with my thoughts
and I can imagine anyone I want
here with me
maybe
that woman from the gas station
whom I see almost every afternoon
the one with the long blonde hair
and bright blue eyes
I like the way she laughs
when she thinks I’ve said something funny
and how friendly she seems
when she hands me my receipt
but don’t get me wrong
I understand
how easy it can be
getting tangled up in one’s own thoughts
how loneliness turns into desperation
how this longing can become
overwhelming at times
I understand
how lonely men convince themselves
when a woman’s friendly
of course it must mean
she wants something else
but this isn’t like that at all
this is just me
alone with my thoughts
this is something completely different
I’m not desperate like that
but I’ll admit
sometimes I do get lonely
I’m lonely sometimes
but I’m never afraid

James Babbs-Author Photo
James Babbs is a writer, a dreamer, a three-time loser and an all-around nice guy who just wants to be left alone. James is the author of Disturbing The Light(2013) & The Weight of Invisible Things(2013) and has hundreds of poems and a few short stories scattered all over the internet.
Leave a Reply

