Cow Eyes by James Babbs

this morning
I saw the cows watching me
they were standing next to the fence
when I stopped to put the mail
into the mailbox
before I turned the car around
and headed back the way I came
I thought about a girl
I once knew
and I remembered
how I called her cow eyes
but not to her face
and as I drove down the road
heading toward the next box
I wondered
whatever happened to her and
sometimes I think about
how it wouldn’t be so bad
if I were one of those cows
out there in the pasture
living with the other cows
standing around in the sun
with plenty of grass to eat

James Babbs-Author Photo
James Babbs is a writer, a dreamer, a three-time loser and an all-around nice guy who just wants to be left alone. James is the author of Disturbing The Light(2013) & The Weight of Invisible Things(2013) and has hundreds of poems and a few short stories scattered all over the internet.
Leave a Reply

