Pimm’s O’Clock by Martin Appleby

I left the BBQ with all I could find
which was a bottle of Pimm’s
the cheap supermarket knock off version
that someone had left behind
I later found myself in a strange woman’s flat
drinking the rancid red booze
neat, straight from the bottle
eventually I threw up on the woman’s sofa
and all over my own lap
but she was drunk herself and did not notice
or didn’t care
and I wandered home to bed at 6am
drunk and covered in my own vomit
but I lived to fight and drink another day
and the moral of the story is to never, ever
drink Pimm’s that isn’t mixed with lemonade

Martin Appleby
Martin Appleby is a writer, poet, punk, book reviewer, boxing fan, vegetarian, cider drinker and editor of PAPER AND INK LITERARY ZINE – paperandinkzine.co.uk

 

Leave a Reply

