So Eden Sank by Adam Stonebury

I borrowed my brother’s Ford LTD and parked it
two blocks away. It was her sixteenth birthday.
I scribbled the words, “Stay Gold” in her
birthday card and tucked in a wallet-sized
senior picture of myself. I wanted her to know
I read her favorite book. I wanted her to remember me.

I was “white trash” and she was a “rich bitch,”
and she wouldn’t see me again.

She’d been my girl for three weeks, ever since
my cousin’s party. And then her dad saw my class ring
hanging from her neck. She came home from school
and forgot to hide it in her shirt. She wasn’t allowed
to date me. He said a boy from South only wanted to
brag about screwing a West girl.

Later that night, I got picked up by the police.
DWI in a stolen car. When I got home, mom kicked me
in the ‘nads. Three years later I was identified as the
guy who raped a freshman girl on a campus three
towns over.

My senior picture was posted all over the news.

Adam Stonebury
Adam Stonebury, distiller of Americana poetry, was born some eight or nine months after a Kansas tornado turned a barn into toothpicks. A self-proclaimed “beautiful loser,” he learned about poetry by reading Bob Seger song lyrics and working in a grain elevator. His greatest talent is turning regret into road dust.

 

Leave a Reply

