I Am A Wizard by Robin Wyatt Dunn

I am a wizard

dead

Los Angeles killed me almost as soon as I arrived
with its long arms

it put this disease inside of me

the special language of the region

for I am a creature of the basin now

in permanent half light
give me your dead
bring them out with smiles

give me all your dead

give me your dead

for I am a wizard

and I shall make them dance
not with spells

but words
all the dead of Los Angeles are mine
and I command them
a city that barely even exists
except inside a few words

cut them open with me
and eat the juice

suck it out

these corpses are your flesh

we’re having a michael jackson funeral
with lights
camera
and action

Donald Trump is here too
we didn’t invite Hillary
Obama is the fool

and I am light

feel me over your face

for I will soon be gone

and everything I have said will remain forever
inside your hard drives
inside your mouth

I am a wizard and this is my spell:

arise

Robin Wyatt Dunn
Robin Wyatt Dunn lives in Los Angeles. In this picture he is holding his tiny chapbook MARY, from Rinky Dink Press.
One thought on “I Am A Wizard by Robin Wyatt Dunn

Leave a Reply

